BBQ Chicken Dip

Image

“I won’t be impressed with technology until I can download food”- Anonymous

Despite the crazy amount of work I had to do for my grad classes this past weekend, I forced myself to take a bit of a mental break & spend some time with friends.  On Saturday, we forced our lazy butts out of bed and arrived in Boston nice and early for the “Rolling Rally” Red Sox parade.  The atmosphere was amazing and the excitement of seeing all the players in their glory was worth the wait!  Boston deserved this moment more than ever after last year’s tragedy.  I will never forget the panic in my family’s voice when they called my cousin and I, who live in the area, to see if we were okay.  Or the attachment I had to my phone waiting for a response from my friends assuring me of their safety.  Or the fear & worry I experienced with my classmates when the entire campus was put on lockdown.  That event will never be forgotten… just as the powerful sense of community Boston illustrated will stay in all of our hearts forever.

The next day, I had a lazy Sunday in my sweatpants consumed with writing papers, grading, and LOTS of coffee.  I took a break to make some BBQ Chicken Dip for our viewing of “The Walking Dead” that night & the smell quickly filled the house.  This recipe, without a doubt, was my friends’ favorite so far.  I hope you all enjoy it! It makes for a perfect Sunday snack, especially if you plan on plopping yourself in front of the TV for some football 😉

   RS1   RS8    RS6    RS7

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of cooked chicken (To make it easier, I used rotisserie chicken and pulled the meat off into thin pieces.  I recommend using Honey Glazed chicken if you can) – see picture below
  • 1 block of cream cheese (8 oz- softened)
  • 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce
  • 1/4 cup of Hickory & Brown Sugar sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s)
  • 1/4 cup of ranch dressing (or blue cheese)
  • 1/4 cup of low fat sour cream
  • 1.5 cups of shredded cheddar cheese

IMG_6144

Steps:

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, mix the shredded chicken, softened cream cheese, BBQ sauce, dressing, sour cream, & 1 cup of the cheddar cheese.

2. Pour mixture into a crock pot.

3. Cook on low until warm and bubbly (about 2 hours).

4. Before serving, stir the ingredients around & top with remaining 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese and allow it to melt.

Serve with tortilla chips!  Happy cooking! & GO RED SOX!! ❤ Boston Strong

*Please note that this recipe was found on http://www.repeatcrafterme.com/2013/06/crock-pot-bbq-chicken-dip.html and was slightly adapted based on the ingredients I had*

One thought on “BBQ Chicken Dip”

Leave a Reply

